A strange new world

January 26, 2010

Okay…so why have I decided to create a blog?  What makes me so sure that I would have something to say that others would actually want to read?  Am I so bored that I am desperately looking for something to fill my time?  Is it arrogance?

I think that my reasons can be narrowed down into two categories.  Personal Growth and Information Inundation.  Let me explain.

Personal Growth

Sometimes I feel like the computer world is outpacing me at an alarming rate.  While I think it’s fair to say that it is outpacing the vast majority of people over the age of 25, I truly feel overwhelmed sometimes.  For this reason, I think that maintaining a personal blog will force me to stay on top of the advances in personal blogs and websites which will probably lead to other easter eggs in the computer world.

I am by nature, a very high-strung person.  Some other adjectives that could be used to describe me are Type A, obsessive compulsive, ADD.   Do you know anyone else like that?  I bet you do.  And if you know that person well enough, you probably know that they have developed several “outlets” in which to let off steam.  While I have a few outlets, I find myself more and more a slave to my computer.  Therefore, it wasn’t too far a leap for me to find a way to write my thoughts and feelings, opinions and observations in a way to help MYSELF cope with the stresses of everyday life.  In the process, my hope is that people reading my blog will find a little humor, advice, tidbit of worthless information etc. to help them get through the day or at least make it a little brighter.

Information Inundation

I have a lot of interests and hobbies.  I read a lot.  I find ways to challenge myself.  I am very social in many walks of life.  Because of this, I find lots of things to think and ponder over.  I figure if the topic at hand is interesting enough to hold my attention for any length of time, you, the reader, just might find it interesting as well.  If not, you certainly won’t hurt my feelings.  If so…. mission accomplished.

One reason that I think you might like this blog is NOT because of what I have to share PERSONALLY but what I pick up from one of my amazing friends and family.  I really am blessed to be surrounded by amazingly smart and talented people.  From my wife who happens to be the most amazing cook in Oklahoma, to my friend in New York that works in a fashionable art gallery and has forgotten more about modern art and music than I will every know.  I have surrounded myself by VERY intelligent people and I’ve learned SO MUCH from them.  They challenge me everyday.  I hope to pass this challenge on to you!

Speaking of talented people. I would like to thank my sister-in-law for her help and encouragement in getting this process started.  Some of you have probably heard of her, as she is famous in the WordPress and blogging community.  Her name is Lorelle VanFossen and she has written a book about blogging entitled “Blogging Tips:  What bloggers won’t tell you about blogging”.  It’s a great resource and I would highly recommend it for anyone that may be thinking about starting a blog.  I’ll provide some more links in the future to some of her work.  Suffice it to say that she’ll keep your head spinning with new information.

Finally, a word about content.  Instead of taking a shotgun approach to providing thoughts and information…I think that I will incorporate what I am calling the “Mental Dart Board”.  When you throw a dart at a dark board, you really never know where the dart will land.  BUT (assuming you hit the board) you can expect it to fall in a specific color and number.  While it seems random, it is in fact quantitative.  While my thoughts and feelings will seem random to most, they can be placed in one of the following categories.

  • Music
  • Literature
  • Art
  • Politics
  • Photography
  • The Great Outdoors
  • Inspirational/Spiritual
  • Aviation
  • Health/Personal Well-being
  • Food
  • Entertainment
  • Various Interests
  • Random Rants

Now, before I finish my first blog, I would like to go over my disclaimers.  I am not a grammar expert so expect misspellings and fragmented sentences.  I love my friends and family dearly and will not intentionally embarrass them. If I do so, please email me so it won’t happen again.  It will not take you long to figure out my political and religious persuasions.  I make no apologies for this and look forward to comments from readers from opposing views.  It’s what makes the world go round people!  Let’s maintain some respect for one another and we’ll have a blast!  Other than that….I look forward to this experiment.

Tulsa Terry

Leave a Reply

